Stupid Me

I don’t know how it happened but somehow I mixed up a roll of in date Fujifilm C200 with a roll of out-of-date, don’t know when or how it has been stored, Fujifilm Superia 200. The film canisters are almost identical, that’s my excuse. As a consequence it has been seriously underexposed. I thought it a bit strange that when developing what I thought were two rolls of C200 film together, one looked very different from the other.

No matter, I thought, images were present on the Superia 200. The film scanner, Epson Perfection V370 Photo, will be able to “see” them.

Normally when I put the strip of negatives in the scanner the initial preview comes out as a series of thumbnails. Imagine my consternation when I was greeted by the following message on my computer screen.

And the following image.

I’ve never seen this format for my negatives and was a little confused as to what to do. However it soon became clear to me that I could manually create individual images using the Marquee tool.

So starting on the left I drew a border around the first image.

Until all six images were selected.

Very soon I had all six, seriously underexposed, images on my computer. I repeated this process for the rest of the film.

Before

Pentax mx005 Pre

After

Pentax mx005 Post

Before

Pentax mx006

After

Pentax mx006 Post

Before

Pentax mx025

After

Pentax mx025 Post

I have to admit to being a little disappointed especially as I was testing out a new film camera to me. But pleased that I was able to rescue something.

Note to self – be more observant when putting film in camera.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.